Listening CD Detail

A Guitar For Elvis  

The Kings of the Acoustic Guitar Salute the King of Rock 'n Roll

Mark Hanson with Tommy Emmanual, Laurence Juber, Pat Donohue, Al Petteway, Doug Smith, and others

Here are 14 classic Elvis Presley tunes arranged for solo guitar (and one duet) by 13 great fingerstyle guitarists, including the above mentioned, plus classical maestro Benjamin Verdery, bluesman Kenny Sultan, and Dutch virtuoso Eltjo Haselhoff, among others. Highlights include Juber's "Suspicious Minds", Donohue's "All Shook Up", Verdery's experimental version of "Don't Be Cruel", and a rocking duet of "Viva Las Vegas" by Mark Hanson and Doug Smith that rescues the tune from the clutches of the advertising juggernaut of Madison Avenue (if you get our drift!).

This album has been accepted by the website, and by the DJs who man the around-the-clock Elvis station for Sirius XM!

Track Listing:

  1. All Shook Up (Pat Donohue)
  2. Mystery Train (Al Petteway)
  3. Can't Help Falling In Love With You (Doug Smith)
  4. Suspicious Minds (Laurence Juber)
  5. Don't - (Tim Pacheco)
  6. Heartbreak Hotel (Kenny Sultan)
  7. Little Sister (Mike Dowling)
  8. Don't Be Cruel (Benjamin Verdery)
  9. Love Me Tender (Brooks Williams)
  10. Loving You (Elliott Easton)
  11. Hound Dog (Al Petteway)
  12. Jailhouse Rock (Eltjo Haselhoff)
  13. Are You Lonesome Tonight? (Jim Tozier)
  14. Viva Las Vegas (Doug Smith and Mark Hanson)

Listen to Audio Samples