Listening CD Detail

This Guitar's In Love With You  

Fingerstyle Guitar Solos of Classic Burt Bacharach Melodies

Mark Hanson with Tommy Emmanual, Laurence Juber, Pat Donohue, Al Petteway, Doug Smith, and others

Solid Air Records' 2014 multi-artist CD includes 16 tracks of fingerstyle guitar arrangements of Burt Bacharach's classic melodies. Mark has three tracks on this CD, a solo version of "Walk On By" and two duets with picking/arranging partner Doug Smith. Other highlights include Laurence Juber's open-tuning "Alfie", Wayne Johnson's jazzy "The Look of Love", Doug Smith's Hedges-inspired "Promises, Promises" and Greg Hawkes' (of the Cars) ukulele version of "What's New Pussycat". There is great listening to acoustic guitar arrangements all the way through!

Track Listing:

  1. Casino Royale (Mark Hanson & Doug Smith)
  2. The Look of Love (Wayne Johnson)
  3. Promises, Promises (Doug Smith)
  4. What's New Pussycat (Greg Hawkes)
  5. Do You Know the Way to San Jose? (David Cullen)
  6. Alfie (Laurence Juber)
  7. What the World Needs Now (Al Petteway)
  8. I'll Never Fall in Love Again (Eltjo Haselhoff)
  9. (They Long to Be) Close to You ( Tommy Emmanuel)
  10. I Say a Little Prayer (Nick Charles)
  11. Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head (Jim Earp)
  12. (There's) Always Something There to Remind Me (Mike Dowling)
  13. Walk on By (Mark Hanson)
  14. Wishin' and Hopin' (Arlen Roth)
  15. This Guy's in Love with You (Laurence Juber)
  16. BONUS TRACK What the World Needs Now (Mark Hanson & Doug Smith)

*REVIEW* by J.S in Arlington, Virginia
"LOVE LOVE your arrangement of Walk on By. You did a great job of orchestrating that for guitar."

*REVIEW* by Blondzilla8 in Southern California
"This definitely puts the "solid" in Solid Air Records because this album is so packed with great performances that the listener (okay, I'm the listener in this case) can do nothing but catch their breath when hearing each of these new acoustic versions of Burt Bacharach's best and most beloved tunes. Beginning with - a favorite of every guy I've ever known - the theme from 'Casino Royale' performed as a duet by Doug Smith and Mark Hanson. It's the perfect song to kick of this album. I dare you not to whistle along… A lovely "gift with purchase" is the TWO renditions of "What the World Needs Now Is Love" - the first by Al Petteway and the closing cut by the dynamic duo of Smith and Hanson, bookending this album with their magic."

*REVIEW* by From Patrick Ragains at
"This latest addition to Solid Air Records' composer-themed guitar anthologies is one of the strongest in the series. The contributing artists exhibit strong empathy with the music of Burt Bacharach, no doubt due to their exposure to his and lyricist Hal David's hits when they saturated the radio in the 1960s and Seventies. The disc begins with "Casino Royale" by Mark Hanson and Doug Smith, first popularized by Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass. Wayne Johnson follows with a bossa nova take on "The Look of Love", played on nylon string and double-tracked, with light percussion added. Johnson phrases the melody beautifully and adds some nice improvised lines. David Cullen plays "Do You Know The Way to San Jose?" on nylon string as well, recalling Dionne Warwick's recording, adding a number of guitaristic elements, such as artificial harmonics. Tommy Emmanuel's "(They Long to Be) Close to You" is a natural highlight, incorporating effective dissonances and a nod to stride piano, while still evoking The Carpenter's iconic performance. "(There's) Always Something There to Remind Me" receives a beautiful Mexican-influenced interpretation by Mike Dowling. Laurence Juber's two numbers, "Alfie" and "This Guy's In Love With You" are masterful. His jazzy DADGAD chord voicings grace "Alfie", while "This Guy'" retains the romantic feel of Herb Alpert's blockbuster 1969 hit, yet at the same time unmistakably LJ. Other artists include uke master Greg Hawkes, Al Petteway, Eltjo Haselhoff, Nick Charles, Arlen Roth, and solos by Mark Hanson and Doug Smith, each adding variety and quality to the album. Hanson and Smith team up again to close the disc with a reprise of "What the World Needs Now Is Love", played with exceptional skill and taste. This disc deserves the same level of critical attention received earlier by Solid Air's Pink Guitar tribute to Henry Mancini (which won a Grammy) and will surely be loved by guitarists and nonmusicians alike.